More and more states in the U.S. are approving medical marijuana legislation, but it does not mean that everyone can have access to cannabis. Even if you live in the state where weed is legal, you need to apply for a medical cannabis card. Though this process can vary from state to state, its main steps are fairly similar everywhere in America. This article aims to make getting a medical cannabis license as clear as day for you.
The first thing you should do is take a look at the law on medical cannabis adopted in your state. The marijuana law usually has significant differences in each American state. For example, in some states, the application procedure is easy, while in others you have to meet strict requirements. American states define the amount of cannabis you can purchase and whether you can breed your own plants. Exceeding local quantity limits and selling cannabis to others are subject to legal prosecution. Pay attention to whether you can use cannabis only for a medical purpose or recreational marijuana is also allowed. Please note that some states, like California, prohibit selling guns to anyone who consumes medical cannabis.
Each state establishes an eligibility list where you can find severe and debilitating diseases allowed to be treated with medical cannabis. If you suffer from any symptoms that may be evidence of such a severe condition, you may be eligible to get a medical cannabis card. You may also be asked to verify your residency to confirm your eligibility.
If you find your condition in the list of eligibility, then you need to visit your local physician who can authorize it. Another option is to contact your nearest dispensary and ask them to provide you with the contacts of an amenable doctor who can sign your authorization.
You can also be authorized by medical cannabis doctors who are licensed to treat cannabis patients. In some U.S. states, such recommendation from a cannabis physician may be sufficient to buy cannabis medications from a dispensary.
If you visit a medical cannabis physician for the first time, try not to mention your goal and let the doctor suggest you the treatment with this natural remedy. Become familiar with the physician and ask him to confirm your diagnosis, especially if there are strict limitations in your state.
After you get the doctor's authorization, in most cases, you will need to fill out a form for receiving a medical cannabis card and enroll in a registry of approved patients. In some places, like San Diego County, you should submit your paperwork in person, while in New Jersey, for example, there is an online registration, and you can send the scanned copies of your documents via the Internet.
Most American states require cannabis patients to pay a fee for issuing a medical marijuana card. The amount of the state fee may range from $10 to $200 depending on the state.
After your documents are approved, you will obtain your medical cannabis card in a few days. You can receive your card via mail in most states, but if you live in California, your card will be issued in one of medical cannabis clinics.
Only after you receive your cannabis card, you can visit a licensed dispensary near you and start your treatment with medical marijuana. In most states, this is the only way to get access to weed legally. If you try to buy weed in another way or from any other place, you become a state law offender.